Poet’s Prayer

 

To deny my faith

 

Would be denying the truth.

 

Is it possible to deny the blood

 

That streams my veins,

 

With legions of unknown

 

Successors

 

with dreams

 

and hopes

 

and promises

 

made and kept?

 

Can I deny the love

 

For estranged

 

Hearts

 

Whom I wish to please?

 

No

 

No I shall not deny

 

I shall not be proud

 

I shall cower

 

And beg for love

 

Because it takes

 

Only a pure heart

 

to distinguish false from true.

 

3 thoughts on “Poet’s Prayer

Leave a Reply

