LOOK AT ME!! I AM JEALOUS OF YOUR NEW FAVORITE PUPPET!!

Fortune Hath Taken Thee Away, My Love

BY Sir Walter Raleigh

Fortune hath taken thee away, my love,sir_walter_raleigh
My life’s soul and my soul’s heaven above;
Fortune hath taken thee away, my princess;
My only light and my true fancy’s mistress.
Fortune hath taken all away from me,
Fortune hath taken all by taking thee.
Dead to all joy, I only live to woe,
So fortune now becomes my mortal foe.
In vain you eyes, you eyes do waste your tears,
In vain you sighs do smoke forth my despairs,
In vain you search the earth and heaven above,
In vain you search, for fortune rules in love.
Thus now I leave my love in fortune’s hands,
Thus now I leave my love in fortune’s bands,
And only love the sorrows due to me;
Sorrow henceforth it shall my princess be.
I joy in this, that fortune conquers kings;
Fortune that rules on earth and earthly things
Hath taken my love in spite of Cupid’s might;
So blind a dame did never Cupid right.
With wisdom’s eyes had but blind Cupid seen,
Then had my love my love for ever been;
But love farewell; though fortune conquer thee,
No fortune base shall ever alter me.
Well he really made himself seem desperate for attention from Queen Elizabeth. He goes so far as to say   that the Earl of Essex is going to take his place and that she is going to like the Earl more than him,and listen to his counsel less now because he is not in the spotlight anymore. Being desperate leads to problems which the Raleigh is very familiar with since not long after he got his head chopped off for treason. So I guess there is a lesson in this.But other then that beautiful poem that can be used to woe any chick that keeps denying you her favor.
Leave a Reply

